Software Testing Certifications

Software Testing Types
Compliance Testing

Though software testing certification is not absolutely essential to have a great career in Software Testing, many wish for certification to validate their knowledge or skill. The certifications can specially give an edge to job-seekers trying to break into the software testing industry. However, note that a certification is only a formal recognition of a level of proficiency and does not guarantee the actual proficiency of the certified person. Below are some popular software testing certifications:

 

Awarding Body: International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB®)

Website: http://www.istqb.org/

ISTQB

Certification URL Recommended for
ISTQB Foundation Level http://www.istqb.org/certification-path-root/foundation-level.html Tester (Entry Level)
ISTQB Agile Tester (Extension) http://www.istqb.org/certification-path-root/agile-tester-extension.html Agile Tester
ISTQB Model-Based Tester (Extension) http://www.istqb.org/certification-path-root/model-based-tester-extension.html Model-Based Tester
ISTQB Advanced Level http://www.istqb.org/certification-path-root/advanced-level.html Senior Tester / Test Manager
ISTQB Security Tester http://www.istqb.org/certification-path-root/advanced-security-tester.html Security Tester
ISTQB Expert Level http://www.istqb.org/certification-path-root/expert-level/expert-level-in-a-nutshell.html Senior Tester / Test Manager

 

Awarding Body: American Software Testing Qualifications Board (ASTQB)

Website: https://www.astqb.org/

ASTQB

Certification URL Recommended for
ASTQB Certified Mobile Tester https://www.astqb.org/get-certified/mobile-tester/ Mobile Tester

 

Awarding Body: American Society for Quality (ASQ)

Website: http://asq.org/

ASQ

Certification URL Recommended for
Certified Software Quality Engineer (CSQE) http://asq.org/cert/software-quality-engineer Tester

 

Awarding Body: International Software Certifications Board (ISCB), a part of the Quality Assurance Institute (QAI)

Website: http://www.softwarecertifications.org/

ISCB_QAI

Certification URL Recommended for
Certified Associate in Software Testing (CAST)  http://www.softwarecertifications.org/cast/ Tester
Certified Software Tester (CSTE) http://www.softwarecertifications.org/cste/ Tester
Certified Manager of Software Testing (CMST) http://www.softwarecertifications.org/cmst/ Test Manager
Certified Associate in Software Quality (CASQ) http://www.softwarecertifications.org/casq/ QA
Certified Software Quality Analyst (CSQA) http://www.softwarecertifications.org/csqa/ QA
Certified Manager of Software Quality (CMSQ) http://www.softwarecertifications.org/cmsq/ QA Manager

 

Awarding Body: International Institute for Software Testing (IIST)

Website: http://testinginstitute.com/

IIST

Certification URL Recommended for
Certified Software Test Professional Associate Level (CSTP-A) http://testinginstitute.com/cstpa.php Tester (Entry Level)
Certified Software Test Professional Practitioner Level (CSTP-P) http://testinginstitute.com/cstpp.php Tester
Certified Software Test Professional Master Level (CSTP-M) http://testinginstitute.com/cstpm.php Senior Tester
Certified Agile Software Test Professional Practitioner Level (CASTP-P) http://testinginstitute.com/castp-practitioner.php Agile Tester
Certified Agile Software Test Professional Master Level (CASTP-M) http://testinginstitute.com/castp-master.php Senior Agile Tester
Certified Test Manager (CTM) http://testinginstitute.com/ctm.php Test Manager
Certified Software Quality Manager (CSQM) http://testinginstitute.com/csqm.php Quality Manager
Certified Software Test Automation Specialist (CSTAS) http://testinginstitute.com/cstas.php Test Automation Specialist

 

With the software testing job market being increasingly competitive, it does help you differentiate yourself by taking a software testing certification. Go through the options listed above and compare them on the basis of syllabus, recognition, and cost. Also, be sure to check the availability of the certification in your area. All the best!

Software Testing Types
Compliance Testing